Guest Blog – Cyril Sneer

Hi. My name is Nick and I love music. Music has been my life since a very young age and I honestly feel that if I didn’t have a way of creating and expressing myself through music I probably would have gone insane by now. I’m a drummer but I’m also DJ and produce music. For me making music is not about getting the girls and showing off, it’s about doing it because I love it – plus I have a lot of fun at the same time. When it stops becoming fun and starts becoming a chore then it really is time to pack it in. Sometimes though it’s not so black and white, especially when you want it to become a full time job.

544136_10152652168140179_447759547_n

I’ve been actively involved in the Manchester music scene since 2006, which was the year I moved up from a small town in North Wales along with 3 other close friends. 3 of us, myself included, regularly played together in a band called Cyril Snear and it was this reason that we took the plunge and left our quiet town behind in search of a hopeful and exciting new future. Sometimes taking risks is what you have to do, even if things don’t pan out the way you want them to. It is important to communicate with each other as a band to ensure that everyone has the same goal in their mind. This is often the biggest problem bands face and it almost always leads to things turning sour. It might be that the band you plan your future career with splits up, but that doesn’t mean it’s the end for you and your career as a musician.

Networking is very important in the music business and it is something that I have been doing since I arrived in 2006. In this industry it’s about who you know, not what you know. You never know when that guy you met last week at a gig suddenly hears that his friend’s band’s drummer has decided to throw the towel in and your name suddenly comes up in conversation. Actively involving yourself in the music scene and speaking to as many promoters and musicians is the best way – this includes the bands that might be on the same bill as you.

The hardest thing as a musician is getting the balance right between your work life and music. On the one hand you need money to buy equipment or petrol for your car to get to a gig, but on the other hand a job stifles creativity and sometimes leaves you exhausted and apathetic towards your musical projects. There really is no right or wrong answer to this and it will take some time before you manage to get the balance right.

At the end of it all what it comes down to is hard work, there is no easy way around it. Be yourself, create your own opportunities and never compromise! just realise that as long as you are doing it for the right reasons good things will come to you, eventually!

 

Leave a Reply

